Game 108: Munson

(Courtesy of Lastangryfan.com)

I wasn’t alive to watch Thurman Munson play, but from the stuff that I’ve seen on tape and the stuff that I’ve heard, he probably would have been my favorite baseball player ever. He was a team guy who loved to win, he was gritty, and of course he had that glorious mustache. So on the 32nd anniversary of the plane crash that took his life, I dedicate this game thread to him. Here’s the lineup:

  1. Derek Jeter, SS
  2. Curtis Granderson, CF
  3. Mark Teixeira, 1B
  4. Robinson Cano, 2B
  5. Nick Swisher, RF
  6. Andruw Jones, DH
  7. Russell Martin, C
  8. Eduardo Nunez, 3B
  9. Brett Gardner, LF

And it will be Phil Hughes on the bump. This one will start a little after 8 pm and can be seen on YES and MLB Network. Let’s Go Yanks!!

2 Comments on “Game 108: Munson”

  1. Randy says:

    Sorry to tell you that today marked the 32nd anniversary of his death. I was 19 when he passed and I can tell you that it was devistating news. Munson was gritty and talented. And nothing was more important than winning and restoring the Yankee Tradition. The one thing about Thurman was the fact that he was the link between my father’s Yanks and my Yanks, as Dad was born in 1927. He was the one player we both agreed on. Next was Don Mattingly, and although my father passed this past April, he would have had Jeter at short.

    Thurman was so much more than just a baseball player. The Hall of Fame should consider what they have to choose from and choose Munson!

    btw – Read Thurman’s book.

    • Matt Filippi says:

      I’m sorry about that; bad math on my part. But yeah everyone I have talked to who saw him play loved the way he played the game. So passionate, tough, and gritty. It’s a real shame that we lost him.

      Thanks for the comment!


Leave a Reply

